Book Cover Design (2016)

Charlotte’s Web by E.B White has always been one of my favourite books as a child so I wanted to try and illustrate a book cover for it, using a combination of watercolour, gouache and gold ink. I wanted to keep the illustration simple, with symbolised lines and imagery and with only two colours (blue and gold) as I thought it would suit the plot of the story. I scanned my artwork onto the computer and use Photoshop to edit and adjust the sizes, I then placed it onto a book mock-up template found online.

charlottes web-01

This is the original scan of my artwork and a page of children’s book layout research in my sketchbook.

Leave a Reply

